Highs and Lows-NHK Trophy 2015

Well, this was a rather hyperbolic event.

Highlights: 

In which Yuzuru Hanyu skates 2 clean and beautiful programs and breaks his own SP record and Chan’s FS and total records along with the 300-point barrier. He has my favorite set of men’s programs so far this season, and I’m glad that we finally got a clean rendition of both of them.

First of all, he’s very attractive in this program. Secondly, congratulations for rebounding from Skate America and winning a bronze medal on home ice, Mura.

I hate his costume, but apart from that, it was a very nice and clean skate.

I don’t think anyone expected him to end his season with two 4th-places finishes on the GP circuit, but congratulations on doing so. Good luck at nationals!

Okay, this is kind of an unexpected program to feature, but I really like this program and its use of music.  And he beat Maxim Kovtun, so yay.

This short dance is adorable. And my favorite of the season, and their bows are adorable as well. Congratulations on winning NHK!

I did not watch this dance when I was catching up on TEB videos. I really regret doing so, for this is a really well-done more modern waltz. And I think I’m now a fan of them.

I love this free dance. I’m very glad that they kept it.

Thank you, Satoko Miyahara, for being clean and expressive. I’m sorry that I cannot get into your freeskate at all.

Lowlights:

Unlike Satoko, most of the other ladies here were underwhelming. This was not fun to watch, and I hope she gets better.

This wasn’t fun to watch either. (At least they’re both in the GPF?)

I hope she doesn’t end up buried in Russia and that we can see her again on the world stage…

And this just makes me sad. At least she moved up in the FS?

And as I feel bad for everyone in this section of the post being a ladies’ skater, here’s someone male to balance it out. I probably would like this program, if it was cleaner…

Highs and Lows-NHK Trophy 2015

One thought on “Highs and Lows-NHK Trophy 2015

  1. I totally agree with almost everything in this post, so bravo for reading my mind! 😂 I really like your high/low posts in general and I look forward to seeing your take on the GPF. Keep up the great work!

    -@salchowsandswarovskis

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment