Highs and Lows-Grand Prix Final 2015

I was expecting to be able to write my Golden Spin post two days ago. Then Yuzuru Hanyu broke the world record short program score again, and I realized that it’d just get completely overshadowed and kind of lost my motivation to write.

Sorry. And this includes both senior and junior events.

Highlights: 

What can I say about Yuzuru that I didn’t say two weeks ago? I love the versatility he shows with these programs and their choreography, and congratulations on breaking his own world records, being amazing, and winning the Final for the third year in a row. Please keep doing this. 🙂

This program is insanely adorable and endearing and I love it. Also, the music fits well for the occasion, and congratulations on being the second man to break 200 points in the FS, Javi!

If he keeps skating like this, Shoma Uno has a very bright future ahead of him. He’s very expressive here, and I liked his SP as well, even though he fell in it.

And we can’t forget the intricate display of bladework that started off the night. Congratulations on moving up a few slots, and I’m pretty sure I could watch him skate in straight lines and like it.

The program that started off the ladies’ freeskate was also very good. I’m not a huge fan of this program, but when she performs it well, it’s amazing.

Her short program was awesome too, but I’ve already featured that here. As for this freeskate, this is the first time I haven’t been bored watching it, and congratulations on your silver, Satton! 🙂

I enjoy watching Zhenia’s programs and think that they’re great vehicles for her. Congratulations on the win, and may she not burn out.

I was absolutely not expecting them to score over 70 in the SP and finish in 4th. But they did with this adorably endearing program, and held onto their position in the FS and scored over 200.

To me, this was the best free dance of the competition. I love the expression and mood they set with this dance, and I hope Alex gets better.

I will fully admit that I’m biased because I like the team and their programs, but congratulations on winning the Final! Shame about the twizzle error here, but the rest is really good.

I enjoyed this dance, but the primary reason they’re here is because I want a wedding dress like Rachel’s. (I’m allowed to be shallow, okay? I have the dance technical knowledge of a corpse.)

Because the first things that come to mind when the short dance theme is a waltz are mountain trolls. I’ve liked them since they did their zombie-themed dance a few years ago, and congratulations on winning.

Her jumping technique is amazing; especially the delayed rotations and height. Congratulations on breaking the junior ladies’ FS and overall record, and if I were to put money on any of the Russian junior ladies going to 2018, it’d be on her.

Marin isn’t my favorite out of the Japanese juniors, but this short program is very airy and lyrical. I enjoyed watching it, and I wish her well in her career.

Lowlights: 

In which I allow myself another moment of shallowness to complain about Anna’s dress, which I want to set on fire. The dance itself isn’t actually that bad sans some errors, though.

Why did you have to fall?! I was enjoying watching you!

In which the other pairs team I’m emotionally invested in here falls twice during their FS, including once on a crossover…

In which Patrick Chan zayaks himself into 6th place.

I really want to cry after watching this.

The junior men’s FS was a bit of an abject disaster, and this ended up being the program that started it all off…

In which Daniel Samohin falls five time in his freeskate.

Highs and Lows-Grand Prix Final 2015

One thought on “Highs and Lows-Grand Prix Final 2015

  1. Three things I loved about this:
    1. “He could probably skate in a straight line and I would like it.”
    2. “I wanted to set it on fire.”
    3. “Because the first things that come to mind when the short dance is a waltz are mountain trolls.”
    *Ruptures internal organs laughing*

    Like

Leave a comment