Highs and Lows-Russian and Japanese Nationals 2015

The events are sharing a post because they were at the same time and kind of got blended together in my mind.

Also, I’ve been a bit distracted by holiday celebrations and Star Wars, so sorry if this post is a bit perfunctory and 90% ladies’ skaters.

Highlights

I think in almost every event she’s competed in, I’ve featured her freeskate? Regardless, Zhenia is an amazingly consistent skater with enjoyable programs, and I hope this continues.

Congratulations on rebounding from NHK and winning the bronze! In my opinion, she had the two best skates of the competition, and I hope she does well at Euros.

Performance one of the Lipnitskaya-Urmanov collaboration was a very expressive and fun effort. If only that also happened in the FS…

This freeskate is adorable and I’m really happy that she was able to improve on her bad short performance. And I want to hug her.

At least Lena has one program this season that I don’t hate, and she consistently performs it well and expressively.

And as I’m going to overrun this entire section with Russian ladies if I keep going like this, honorary mentions to Maria Sotskova, Polina Tsurskaya, and Serafima Sakhanovich.

Before we begin on our deluge of Japanese ladies’ skaters, have my favorite performance from all of the other disciplines. It’s very powerful and expressive and handsome.

Congratulations on your win, Satton! I love this fiery and expressive short for her.

Ignore the errors and just focus on her beautiful interpretation and performance. I hope the rest of the season goes better for her.

Finally, she didn’t pop her double axel! If only this continued in the freeskate…

Honorary mentions to Rika Hongo’s SP and Wakaba Higuchi’s FS, which I cannot find videos of anywhere.

Lowlights

Why did you have to bomb your freeskate!? Why did you have to let Maxim Kovtun win a national title!? Why…

Why do you keep screwing up your short dances….

And that is that, as I can’t find videos of the other program I was going to put here. Also, Japanese Nationals needs a livestream. And happy new year, everyone.

Highs and Lows-Russian and Japanese Nationals 2015

Leave a comment