Highs and Lows-Worlds 2016

Due to this event being in my timezone, I was able to watch most of it live.

It ended up being a massive emotional rollercoaster, hitting a plethora of extremes.

 

Highlights 

The ladies’ event in general was absolutely amazing, and I loved nearly every second of it. To begin, here’s my favorite program from the entire event, in all of its lyrical glory.

I love how expressive and fiery she was, and this program is a great vehicle for her. I’ll miss it next season…

Thank you, Rika, for winning me over this season. I’ll be excited to see you grow.

This is my favorite program ever from Gold, and congratulations on winning the segment.

And this is the program that ended the decade-long American ladies’ medal drought.

When she is on, Anna is a very powerful and passionate skater. Congratulations on the bronze, and I hope to see more of this in the future.

And, to close off the ladies’ segment, have the new world champion and her world-record setting performance. And on another note, this competition was the first time this season that I really enjoyed her short program.

(Honorary mentions to Elena Radionova, Gabby Daleman, Mirai Nagasu, Zijun Li, Elizabet Tursynbaeva, Nicole Rajicova, Dabin Choi, and Amy Lin. I would’ve liked to post videos, but not overloading the post won out.)

And this was my favorite non-ladies’ program. Hanyu is beautiful here, and I’m glad it got a great final showing.

Misha is a very beautiful skater. I hope the next season goes better for him…

I think Mika has become my favorite currently-skating Russian male skater. Congratulations on the amazing debut!

You know a program is amazing when you can’t hear the music over the audience. Great job rebounding from the short program, and it was a beautiful debut too.

Deniss is adorable. Also, a top-10 SP finish in a senior worlds debut is pretty awesome.

Congratulations on skating two beautiful programs on home ice!

And, to close off this section, have Javier Fernandez’s perfect title defense.

I’ll be sad to see this program go, but at least they set some new personal bests with it in its final outing.

Thank you for winning me over this season with your beautiful programs.

This dance is beautiful. Congratulations on the title defense and world record, and I hope their programs next season are just as amazing.

Resurgence is a beautiful thing to witness. Congratulations on your first world medal in five years, and may you continue to be awesome.

I love how passionate and expressive they are, and their chemistry is amazing. Congratulations on the silver, and may surgery go well for them.

I first started liking them after hearing about her story, but their programs and her flexibility won me over. Congratulations on the personal bests.

Lowlights 

Okay, to be fair, this probably wasn’t as bad as I thought it was, but why did you have to have your worst performance of the season during worlds…

To be fair, this isn’t all that bad. The only reason it’s here is because of the really painful 4t fall, where I was convinced that he’d injured himself….

If you ignored all of the jumps, it was nice?

Botched FS qualifications,  one of two. Please do better next year…

Botched FS qualifications, two of two. I hope he does better at TCC…

Twizzle errors are not fun…

Highs and Lows-Worlds 2016

Leave a comment