Highs and Lows-American, Canadian, and Russian Junior Nationals 2016

The end result of having three national championships in around the same time is that you end up watching bits and pieces of all of them for a week, which leads towards a figure skating high.

There were a lot of great skates, though.

Highlights: 

 I had no idea who Aliza Lozko was before watching this program, but I ended up enjoying her spins and 3lo+3lo. I hope she does well in the future.

Elizaveta Nugumanova is adorable and I want her to dominate the JGP next season.

Finally, he skated a clean rendition of this short program! I hope he does this in international competition.

I really enjoy the mood they’re able to convey through their dance, and the lift where she’s in a split is amazing.

Congratulations on winning the silver with a clean free skate! I prefer their short, but this is a nice program as well.

Their lifts are amazing and this program is beautiful. Congratulations on the bronze.

This is a really pretty program, and she was able to take an unexpected lead with it after being one of the few people to skate cleanly in the SP.

I had no idea who she was before the SP, but her power, expression, and being one of the only clean people won me over. If only her FS was better….

The first person who skates cleanly in a sea of messy programs will get my attention, and that was what she did. Good luck at Junior Worlds!

Congratulations on winning your second national title! This was a great way to close off the ladies’ event.

I wasn’t expecting him to do so well, but this was a really enjoyable and expressive performance. If only he did this well in the FS…

This was a very beautiful and powerful performance, and congratulations on medaling for the first time!

In which Nathan Chen becomes the first man to land four quads in a freeskate.

This was actually my favorite performance of the entire men’s event. I love the beauty and passion he exudes, and could watching him skate all day.

This is a very expressive dance, and I enjoyed watching it. Actually, a lot of the dance teams were very good, and this program just ended up being my second favorite.

And this is my absolute favorite program of the entire week. It was beautiful and I got chills halfway through, and congratulations on your title.

Lowlights: 

Before we actually include any programs in this section, I’d like to talk about the coverage of American Nationals.

First of all, unlike every other competition of its stature, the stream requires you to pay for it. That normally wouldn’t be a problem for me, for they have the Skate Radio feed and there was also an alternate stream, but the stream tends to spaz a lot and run into lags, whereas most of the free ones for other competitions don’t. In addition, a few groups of skaters weren’t even shown due to poor coordination between NBC and said stream, and the commentators for the former talked incessantly about nonsense and got to a point where I wanted to rip out their tracheae and set those on fire.

Sorry for the rant.

Sima… I hope she doesn’t fall into further oblivion after this, and the suicide imagery freaks me out.

I’m not her biggest fan, but this wasn’t fun to watch…

Scary twist falls are not fun. At least no one was injured?

Why did you have to invalidate two of your jumps?

I don’t really like her that much, but I wasn’t expecting her to bomb…

This was incredibly depressing and I went to bed right after this and I hope she rebounds….

Highs and Lows-American, Canadian, and Russian Junior Nationals 2016

Leave a comment